Books and Inspiration

Image

Dear Readers,

I realise that in my life there are one or two books that a. I desperately want and b. that I could not live without. One of these books is 

– Forgotten Skills of Cooking: The time-honoured ways are the best – over 700 recipes show you why by Darina Allen.  as seen here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Skills-Cooking-time-honoured-recipes/dp/1856267881/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365677078&sr=8-1&keywords=the+time+honoured. This book is more than just a cook-book it is a life saver and it really takes you back to the basics which you never even thought about. There is even a section on foraging. This book I would recommend to any-one who likes cooking, being inventive or any one looking to be more independent and perhaps get back to basics. It truly is an awesome book.

 

Now a book I really want is 

– The Hairy Dieters: How to Love Food and Lose Weight by Hairy Bikers as can be seen http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hairy-Dieters-Love-Food-Weight/dp/0297869051/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1365677392&sr=1-1&keywords=hairy+bikers+diet+book. My mum has the book and whenever I go round and she makes something from it is delicious. I am thinking birthday present for me. All their recipes are healthy and they all taste so nice, amazing I know. 

 

There are a few books out there that can act as ones bible and Darina Allen’s book for me is that. I am slowly trying out all the recipes and implementing the changes that she recommends. Do you have any good books?

2 responses to “Books and Inspiration

  1. Thanks for the tip about Darina Allen’s book – it looks fab. I’ve ordered one for myself.

    My dad used to be a lecturer in catering and when he retired he gave me a copy of ‘Basic Cookery’ by Richard E Martland and Derek A Welsby. It does a similar job to Darina Allen I think – explains all the (French tradition) techniques are. I find it invaluable. I’m not sure it’s still in print but I did find a second hand copy on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B0012UGCM2/ref=dp_olp_collectible?ie=UTF8&condition=collectible

Leave a Reply

