My unexpected cupboard meal for 40.6p

Image

So today I looked and thought I have nothing in, how wrong I was. I made a perfectly nice meal from things I had just lying around the kitchen. It was very yummy. I think the chilli flakes really give it a kick. The sardines have a big kick to them.

Ingredients Makes 2 – Apparently.

Spaghetti – 200-250g
Tin of sardines – 88g drained
Garlic 2-3 bulbs
1tsp Chilli Flakes
1tsp Parsley
1tbsp oil / flora
A pinch of pepper

The tin of sardines cost about 60p and could have stretched to 3 meals but hey. The pasta was 28p for 500g so 11.2p for 200g. I cooked the pasta, then in a separate pan heated the oil and garlic, then added the sardines and other spices, mixed together and let heat through for a couple of minutes. Drain the pasta once cooked and mix them together. Sorted. Takes no longer than cooking the pasta and mixing it all together. And if I argue that the spices cost no less than 10p then this lunch cost 81.2p then per person it costs 40.6p each.

Realistically this meal would have been better suited for a dinner meal as I still have lots left over. So in my living below the line week if I get lunch and breakfast for less than 59.4p then it will work out quite nicely. Sorted.

IMG_0136

One response to “My unexpected cupboard meal for 40.6p

  1. I absolutely love your blog and fin many of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.

    Do you offer gues writers to write content for you?

    I wouldn’t mindd publishing a post or elaborating on a feww of
    tthe subjects you write iin relation to here. Again, awesome site!

Leave a Reply

