Bread and Butter Pudding

photo 1 (1)

Well, here it goes folks. I had bread that amazingly went stale for once, as opposed to what it normally does and grows mould. Not being one to waste things I decided I’d try my hand at making a bread and butter pudding. The pudding is still in the oven as I’m writing up my experiment.

I had bread, milk, cinnamon and raisins. I added milk, and chocolate spread to half the bread and butter to the other half. My mission, to leave it in the oven for 20 minutes and hope it is something like what I’d had so many times before from family friends who seem to have really conquered this meal. I am hoping it is atleast half as good. I have seen suggestions to use nutmeg but I’m out of this, in fact I do not have it. But maybe next time. I also did not have that much milk, but I am hoping they go yummy.

Working out how much this pudding cost is going to be slightly tricky the bread was about 20p and the milk was probably 10p plus the 10p for sultanas and then the sugar and cinnamon. All in all, I imagine the cost me between 50-60p but could feed 2-3 people. More if I had used more bread obviously. But for a make-shift pudding it is in my opinion quite ingenious.  If you fed three people this would be a 20p pudding, if you fed just two then it would be a 30p pudding. Most importantly it uses up ingredients that otherwise would have been thrown away, so I’m relieving myself of the bad feeling I get when I throw out good food. Oooh. I can smell the bread cooking.

Image

Leave a Reply

