Procrastination

With deadlines looming, one tends to ‘step up to the mark’ after a lot of procrastinating. Under no pressure, there is no stepping up. No drive to be at optimum levels of performance. No stepping forward, no constructive behaviour.
For example, right now. I have a deadline looming, several in fact. And what am I doing? Not a lot is a good answer. I have a program on my computer called ‘Cold Turkey’ and I recommend it to any one who has difficulty staying away from certain sites when wanting to be constructive. It only works if you then do not do what I am doing and spend several hours trying the think of a way around the block, or sites that you might legitimately need so have not blocked but are abusing.

I might try making a list of the things that need to be done, that might be a very sensible thing to do. I could reward myself with a nice glass of something or other… Later. When the deadline has passed. Sadly I seem to be under the impression that I do my best work the day before a deadline at four in the morning. Do not know why, but that is what I seem to think. Silly, silly me. I implore myself and every-one else not to slip into these habits, they are BAD. They are stressful and I honestly believe that it is not my best work. More time does equate to better work to an extent. So here goes. No more distractions, let’s power through to the morning….

After tea..

3 responses to “Procrastination

  1. ‘Thank you for this blog. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this blog into something thats eye opening and important. You clearly know so much about the subject, youve covered so many bases. Great stuff from this part of the internet. Again, thank you for this blog.”

  2. I had a very short think about this, and you really made me think about how much time I fritter away browsing online (no TV on purpose, so my fritterage has moved to other media). Thanks for the heads-up on Cold Turkey (there’s also one for people like me who use macs called SelfControl, as I’ve just discovered) I will act on this advice!!

    • Oh, and I’ve ALWAYS been a procrastinator, I know all about those 4am coffee driven deadlines… šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

