My Journey to Minimalism – Well Not Quite

"Unnecessary possessions are unnecessary burdens. If you have them, you have to take care of them! There is great freedom in simplicity of living. It is those who have enough but not too much who are the happiest." - Peace Pilgrim

“Unnecessary possessions are unnecessary burdens. If you have them, you have to take care of them! There is great freedom in simplicity of living. It is those who have enough but not too much who are the happiest.” – Peace Pilgrim

A friend recently told me that the suicide rate in less economically developed countries is less than the more economically developed countries (cheery I know). I do not know how true this is, but it got me thinking, (along with the live below the line challenge) of people who are less fortunate than me. In downsizing to my new accommodation I am going to need to take a serious look at all the belongings I have.

At the moment, I have a nice lovely house, that is wonderful. We have a study that is big enough to be a bedroom, in there it has turned into a ‘storage’ room for things that I have not wanted to throw away. Now that I am moving to perhaps a smaller apartment I think it is wise to cast off some of these items. They are a burden on me and my mind. I do not need most of these items. I have not used many of them either ever or in a very long time. I also have a huge paper trail of things that reflect my life which I doubt I will  ever need or ever really look at again.

In moving forwards to the future I think it is only sensible to have a nice clearout of all my belongings. For example I currently have two wardrobes full of clothes, but on top of that I have two not small sized suitcases full of clothes that I haven’t unpacked because I do not have room for them. I have crates of books that I have no space for on my book shelf. If I take my mothers approach of ‘never read a book twice’ rule then I should be able to get rid of the ones I’ve read to make space for the others. This seems very strict and I like reading some again, but perhaps if I get rid of the ones I most likely will not read again then I am making a start.

So my new plan for today is to remove from my life those things that I just do not need. I think freecycle may be a good place for items I do not want but still have life in them. Any other ideas for items that I do not want, lots of paper and miscellaneous belongings, plus lots of clothes…?

And how about you dear reader? Are you hanging on to things that you really  just do not need,that you most likely will never need? Letting go can help you to feel better. I feel a lot better with every bag of belongings that I let go of.

4 responses to “My Journey to Minimalism – Well Not Quite

  1. Good luck on your journey to simplicity and hope you find it as rewarding as I have. I kept things that where priceless to me: quilts my mother made, paintings from relatives, family keepsakes.

    • Irreplaceable things I should perhaps hold on to. But there has to be a limit. I feel if I implement that I may be keeping things because of the memories they hold, but most items do indeed have memories… :S

  2. I have been working diligently the last year in paying off debt and getting rid of things that I never use or have need for. With every payment towards the debt and each trip to the donation store, it feels like a huge weight is lifted off my shoulders. So glad to see you are experiencing the same relief and wish you the best with your journey!

    • Thanks for commenting. It does feel good to get rid. I am experience twinges of guilt with certain stuff that I am not quite ready to part with. I have concluded possessions do not make you happy… 🙂

Leave a Reply

