Liebester Award

liebster-award

So about a month ago now, I recieved word of having being nominated for the Liebster award by http://budgetlovingmilitarywife.com/ , which is fabulous. Apart from the fact that Christmas is a busy time for us all and I have been a little bit distracted recently in terms of my blog consequently I forgot to update my blog and write this post. I must admit that this has made me very happy and in theory should have given me the inspiration to carry on blogging and writing, but in my mind no-one is that interested in the basic everyday recipes that we all know; and I haven’t been particularly creative recently. Link

But back to the award: if you are unfamiliar with the Liebster Award, it is intended to promote a supportive community among new blogs and their bloggers.

So thank you for the nomination! (Even if this blog post is a long time coming) The Budget Loving Military Wife is an entertaining, thought-provoking blog with some fabulous ideas and ways of life in their method of living within a budget. I highly recommend checking out her blog!

If you are nominated for a Liebster award this is what you should do:
1. Post the award on your blog
2. Thank the blogger who presented the award to you and link back to their blog
3. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator
4. Nominate 5 to 10 bloggers with less than 200 followers
5. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer
6. Notify your nominees by posting on their blog

The questions I received from Budget Loving Military Wife Were:

  1. If you had all the money in the world but still had to have some kind of job, what would you choose to do?
    I’d probably choose to be a writer, but of advice columns as I enjoy playing around with words and helping people. Saying this, I realise that I’d probably be happy with a more interactive role that meant I got to help people.
  2. Have you ever participated in a Random Act of Kindness? If so, what was it that you did? If not, what is something you could do to make a complete stranger have a better day today?
    Erm, yes and all the time. I tend to carry snacks around with me incase I get hungry, maybe an orange or a chocolate bar. When I see a homeless person I generally offer them the food. On occasion I have bought them things like sandwiches, bread or doughnuts from the store to give them. I do not like to give them money as I do not know what it is that they are spending it on.
  3. Why did you begin blogging?
    Blogging is a way of expressing oneself. I had all these fabulous ideas that I would share with my friends and family, and they would share in return that I thought why not see what the world has to offer me. I already followed a few inspirational blogs and thought that possibly, just possibly some of my ideas might help others. I love reading other peoples meal plans or how they upcycled a meal.
  4. What is the best piece of advice you have received to date?
    Get up and go. Literally. To plunge yourself headfirst into whatever it is, an activity, a chore, a holiday, running. By thinking about doing something first it lowers the possibility of doing it. For example swimming, if I thought about what an effort it is to pack, then walk to the swimming baths, then have to swim, then get dry and get out and then walk back again and then sort out my swimming stuff… I just might not go because it might seem like a lot of faf.
  5. Who is your “hero” and why?
    Isabella of Castile, why? Because to me she seemed to have her life sorted and did not let her being a woman get in the way despite her being around in the 15th century. My favourite example of this would be that in her marriage due to her being the woman her new married flag should have been only a quarter, with her husbands Ferdinand of Aragon forming three quaters. Instead it was equal, half and half. She is partially responsible for forming the Spain that we know today through her marriage.
  6. If you were able to take a year off from work (but still receive your paycheck), what would you do with your time?
    About the same as I do now, my paycheck doesn’t really offer me much flexibility. I think if I had a ‘normal’ paycheck then I would consider moving to another country for the year and learning the language. Given the option I would happily get a job over there in the year either to supplement my paycheck or instead of.
  7. Where is the best place you have ever traveled and why?
    Erm, probably Floriade 2012. Why, because it was just so beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. I could have happily just stayed there indefinitely regardless of supplies of food.
  8. What 5 adjectives best describe you?
    Optimistic, Sarcastic, Witty, Cynical and Fresh.
  9. If you have a bucket list what is one thing you have already accomplished and one thing left on your list? If you don’t have a bucket list, why not?
    I think going to Floriade was on my list, with the event only happening once every ten years its important to go while you have the chance. I don’t have a fully formed list, there are one or two things I know I would like to do, like visit the Alhambra in Granada.
  10. If someone handed you a million dollars, no strings attached, what would be your first purchase?
    Driving lessons? A house? A government bond.

And now to pick my five nominations and the ten questions I would like to ask them.

Questions:

  1. What’s your favourite food?
  2. If you were going to write a book, what would you call it and what would it be about?
  3. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  4. What do you do for fun?
  5. If someone asked you to give them a random piece of advice, what would you say?
  6. If you could go back in history, who would you like to meet?
  7. If you were a type of animal, what would you be and why?
  8. If you had had the choice of being immortal forever or living a normal life, which would you pick?
  9.  You are granted one wish, and one wish only. Use it wisely, but what do you wish for?
  10. Do you think ‘debt’ is more common in our time, where the whole world is for sale and Apple releases new gadgets every other month or so? Or also: is it easier to get in debt now, than it was 50 years ago?

The Nominations Are:

FrogandCount because of her truly unique methods of alternate food amongst other things. (Rice flour)

Penniless Vegetarian as despite her difficult task (making vegetarian food look scrummy) she manages it anyway and does so on a budget.

Alifesgayventure due to such a good writing. Although not always on the topics I normally read these posts are always interesting and thought provoking. How the budget in this household is so low is truly inspiring.

Penny wise mummy down to earth writer with a small one in tow to boot. Organised and raising two small children. The desire to budget is inspiring.

The Domestic Story Teller a student with a passion for writing and puts their budget life into beautiful words.

2 responses to “Liebester Award

  1. Many thanks for the kind thoughts!

    I have to confess to being a bit of a rubbish blogger for participating in awards though. In fact I’ve been taking time out of reading blogs altogether for a bit as it can get a bit obsessing!

    Your spinach and ricotta lasagne looks yum by the way. I have pinned it and now it’s on my to do list *rubs tum*

Leave a Reply

