Kidney Bean Curry 50p a serving

I quite like this curry because it is high in protein and is made from ingredients I tend to have lying around in my cupboards anyway. Even the carnivore husband likes this. I made this last week and it made its way onto the meal plan again this week.

Ingredients

1 big/ 2 small onions, diced
400g can Kidney Beans, rinsed
400g can Tomatoes
5g lazy garlic finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 tsp chilli flakes (I used lazy), or powder
1 tsp corriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground paprika
1 tsp medium curry powder
Fat free natural yoghurt (optional)

Serves 2
Cost: Onions 16p, Kidney beans 25p, Tomatoes, 25p, Ginger 5p, Garlic 6p, Chilli 5p, Corriander 5p, Cumin 5p, Paprika 5p, Curry Powder 3p, (Optional Natural Yoghurt 10p). Total £1.00 (or £1.10 for Yoghurt) for both portions, meaning it costs 50p per person for the curry. I served this with microwaveable wholegrain rice from aldi costing me 42p.

Step 1.
Add the onions to a non stick pan on a medium heat, cook for about 5 minutes until the onions start to soften. Then add the corriander, garlic, ginger and chilli flakes, mix and wait two minutes for the garlic to soften.

Step 2.
Then add all the remaining spices and cook for one minute. Add the tin of chopped tomatoes and kidney beans then mix. Cook for a further 10 minutes to allow the kidney beans to soften or until you are happy with the consistency.

Step 3.
Enjoy. Serve this with rice, chips, in a wrap or whatever you fancy. I recommend putting a dollop of yoghurt on top of the dish when serving for those who prefer a milder taste.

Mmm… Yummy. 🙂

Disclaimer: I added mushrooms to this dish, and had leftovers, see below for my lunch. 🙂

 

IMG_0721.JPG

2 responses to “Kidney Bean Curry 50p a serving

Leave a comment